Looking Back to Move Forward – 2011/2012

Prosecco and oliebollen...New Year's Eve starts at 4pm round here!

Happy New Year!

I have a confession to make – this post was started yesterday, but I left it to spend quality time with my husband and daughter and reminisce about the year gone by.

2011 was a mixed bag for us really. There’s been major highs as a parent, with Lola’s first smile, laugh, dance, words and almost steps. I’ve also met some great people and been lucky enough to visit some amazing places through work, including Paris and Rome.

There’s also been some major lows with losing my uncle, a crappy post-natal immune system and hubby’s unemployment (he has a new job now though, woohoo!). With the highs and lows, we’ve learned a lot about ourselves – as people, partners, parents, and we’re looking forward to taking that knowledge with us into this new year.

I love challenging myself, setting goals and taking those small steps to complete them. My aims for 2012 include:

– more writing (business and blogging)

– more community projects (fundraising events and community art projects)

– monthly dates with my hubby

– the obligatory health kick – because really, still holding on to the baby weight when your child has reached toddler-dom is the equivalent of blaming a hangover on “that last pint”.

Plus, Amsterdam shops suck when you have to buy larger sizes. Actually, while we’re on the subject, Rebecca Woolf of Girl’s Gone Child does a great feature on post-partum fashion, for those of us not blessed with the waist of a whippet within 3 months (or 13) of giving birth.

I love Chris Guillebeau’s blog The Art of Non-Conformity. He shares his Annual ReviewΒ every year, and this month he also introduced his manifesto, The Tower, for those looking to make the most of their time here and pro-actively build their legacy. This is a theme that I think about a lot more these days, especially as a parent…what do I want to show my daughter and what do I want to leave behind for my family and our community? I’m still working on answering the larger question of legacy, but the small steps above are moves in the right direction.

How about you? What are you hoping for or working towards this coming year? How are you going to make this happen? And how can I help you? Because the most important thing about being an International Villager (and being part of a community of amazing people) is that we support each other to be and do our best.

If you’re looking for inspiration for your new year, check out these links:

Leo Babauta has a great post on creating new habits.

Gala Darling offers tips for a glittery, pink approach to the year.

Susannah Conway chooses her theme for 2012. Word!

Looking back, check out aΒ year in street photographyΒ over at Klara’s Street.

Happy New Year villagers! Looking forward to spending more time with you in 2012. X

6 thoughts on “Looking Back to Move Forward – 2011/2012

  1. what a great way to start the new year! i penned my new year’s resolutions yesterday and 1 of them was to start my own blog so thanks to you for the nudge! πŸ™‚ Happy new year to you and yours. xxx

  2. what a good read lisa.. im glad your writing ..i shall have to check out some of your others πŸ™‚

    here’s to building on your legacy and enjoying your family..happy 2012 πŸ™‚

    how
    x

    • What a surprise! Nice to see you on here How πŸ™‚ Thanks for the nice comment! And I’m looking forward to hearing more of your legacy via finished tunes uploaded to FB πŸ˜‰ Happy 2012! X

  3. Thanks for sharing the inspiring links (I love Leo Babatua). All the best for 2012 and realising your goals. I am looking forward to a year of getting back to my artisic roots and creating art.

  4. Ohh exciting! Looking forward to seeing the results of your creations on your blog! All the best to you for this year and look forward to more blogging interaction too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

