Starbucks: Amsterdam Concept Store

I’m not a fan of Starbucks. Nor am I a fan of anything that is calls itself a “concept store”, because its already trying too hard.

So I was quite surprised to find myself visiting the newly opened Starbucks at The Bank, not just once, but twice, in one day. To be fair, the store is based in the ground floor of the building I work in; sells breakfast muffins and was handing out free coffee.

And actually, it’s a pretty impressive place. The space has a modern feel with a nod to local traditions, including a mural depicting the history of Dutch coffee traders, Dutch oak features, recycled inner tubes and antique Delft tiles. The floor plan is open, but includes cosy corners and reading areas that give it a more intimate feel.

Man adopts traditional "hhhmmmm, let me see," chess pose. For ages.

3 thoughts on “Starbucks: Amsterdam Concept Store

  1. Love me some Starbucks and not afraid to say it. They have soya milk and Let’s not make coffee go the same way as wine and beer, “oh, I only drink coffee that has been shat out by guatemalian wolves and hand ground by children in a fair-trade co-operative…blah, blah, blah.” rant over!

    • You and I both know I’m not principled enough for that kind of hardline stance Paul! Its more to do with good old-fashioned personal preference than ethics.

      I like the design features in this place, but the coffee is over-rated.

      • I don’t think it’s being principled, I think it’s being snobby. I wasn’t mening you Lisa, I know you’re still a rough northern lass

Leave a Reply

